A letter to myself.

20140330-232723.jpg

If I could go back and give my younger self some advice, this is what I would tell me:

Trust your body. You are stronger and capable of doing so much more than you think you are.

Sleep. But stay up late too, enjoy it. Once you have kidlets, it’s going to be a very long time until you get to enjoy either of those things without worrying about what time you’re going to be woken up and make sure you savour lazy mornings and coffee in bed – again it’s really hard to have a sleep in when you’re wondering what the kids are destroying in the other room.

Enjoy “me-time.” Don’t waste it. It makes me crazy when I think of all the time I spent watching crap tv or doing things I didn’t want to do for people who didn’t appreciate it. These days I hardly get time to eat or even pee without an audience, let alone to spend some quality time with my sketchbook or trying to do something I would really enjoy doing. When you have free time, use it to do something that makes you happy.

Don’t be shy about your body. Like most women, I have spent a crazy amount of time deciding what to wear, wondering if I should wear things; if a particular dress was too tight, or if those shorts are too short. Now, after birthing 2 babies, I feel like half the population has seen my hoo-ha, and I’ve got my boobs out and feed those same two babies just about everywhere, so at this point I certainly don’t have anything left to hide and I really don’t care what anyone thinks anyway!

“Getting Your Body Back” after having a baby is a lie. You don’t get the same body back. Sure, you can lose the weight, but things are different, softer, stretchier. It’s like the difference between a brand-new, tight pair of trendy jeans, or your old, worn-in, comfy jeans that have been everywhere. My body isn’t perky and new anymore, it’s definitely been used, but I’m a lot prouder of what it can achieve than I ever was of what it looked like.

Trust your heart and your gut. If either one of them tries to tell you something, for f**ks sake,Β Β Listen To It!!!

 

20140330-232809.jpg

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Drop me a comment on the blog or the facebook page and let me know xoxo

4 thoughts on “A letter to myself.

  1. Yes yes to all of these. And loving your body the way it was because I wasn’t even happy before I had kids and now I look back and think WOW I was HAWT and didn’t even know it. Well hot by my standards to probably not model hot, but you get my drift!

    Like

  2. I like it , I think I’ll write one too . I don’t remember the exact day, but at whatever point it became okay to take a dump with small people running around me (usually screaming) is when I gave up. I belong to them now .

    Like

Leave a Reply

