blank pages….

What is it about a brand new, blank calendar or diary?

It’s one of my favourite things, every christmas I treat myself to a pretty new diary and calendar and some new pens to go with it, it’s become a bit of a tradition for me.

I go through this year’s diary, reminiscing over all the important dates in our lives; birthdays, anniversaries, things to remember and carefully transferring them over to the new diary and calendar. Reminding myself of everything that’s happened over the last 12months.

The empty pages feel full of so much promise, they’re blank, these days haven’t happened yet, anything could happen.

We could go anywhere, do anything…a new year feels like a new start. 

In reality, I know most of them will be filled with shopping lists and doctor’s visits, errands to run, things to do…you know, all the boring stuff, day to day life.

But I remind myself, they will also be filled with so many firsts.

Carter’s first birthday, Scout’s 3rd, first steps, new friendships, so many new adventures for Polly, so many firsts with the new house; first meal in the new kitchen, the kid’s first night in their new bedrooms, our first night in our own bedroom away from the kids, first fire in the new fireplace, first time we invite people over to visit, first christmas….

I think I know 2014 is going to be an amazing year. Because I’m going to make sure of it 😉

Image

Am I the only weird one who gets all excited over a new diary?

IMG_5715

Leave a Reply

