Music….

Hi all, been a bit quiet over here lately, somehow I missed last week’s #listmania, I got halfway through writing it, then blinked and somehow the week disappeared, along with the hope of me getting any blogging done. I’ll get around to finishing it one day.

The topic for #listmania14 is music. One of my most favourite things in the world.  

Hmm, where to start?

My taste in music is seriously varied, there’s just so much amazing talent out there, it’s really hard to keep up with it. I listen to everything from folk singer/songwriters, world music, rock, jazz, heavy metal – even gangsta rap! It all depends on my mood.

I’m super stoked to be seeing The Drones again next week, they’re an amazing aussie band. If I had to describe their style in one word it would be… loud. 

Lots of loud guitar and distortion, great for blowing away the cobwebs. (and maybe it helps that I have a little bit of a crush on adorably scruffy lead singer, Gareth Liddiard.) The new album I See Seaweed is one of their best and I also love Gareth’s solo album, Strange Tourist.

(The Drones -I don’t ever want to change ) < check out a clip here <

Also on high rotation at the moment in house (shed) is the new Neil Young album, Psychedelic Pill, I’m not a massive Neil fan but hubby is so this one’s been getting a lot of play since the concert last month and I’m really enjoying it.

Reggae: my feel-good music, instantly gets me in a good mood. Bob Marley, Chaka Demus & the Pliers One of my all-time faves is UB40, they’re one of my Dad’s favourites, so I’ve been listening to them since I was a kid and been lucky enough to see them live a couple of times too. 

images

 

60’s & 70’s. I was born a couple of decades too late for Woodstock, but my inner flower child loves a bit of The Doors, Bob Dylan & Jimi Hendrix. 

I recently ‘discovered’ Johnny Cash, after watching “Walk the Line ” (awesome movie, Joaquinn Phoenix & Reese Witherspoon, if you haven’t seen it, go rent it now!) I never realised how many of his songs I knew/liked till I saw the movie.

images

Upbeat stuff, something to put on and go mad doing housework or to make a boring car trip go quicker. Nothing like Black Eyed Peas, Beyonce, Jay-Z or Kanye West for a bit of booty shakin’ and a sing a long.            I love Gwen Stefani, on her own and as part of No Doubt. Probably as much for her fantastic style as for her music.

I really love hip hop and rap too, when I’m in the right mood: Naughty By Nature, Tupac, Notorious Big, Snoop Dogg, Salt’n’Pepa, Eminem, Neneh Cherry. 

This one brings back a lot of memories:  Salt’n’Pepa – Shoop

Also, the classics that inspired some of our favourite artists of today, legends like Muddy Waters, Nina Simone and Billie Holiday.

 

It’s another busy one up here on the mountain this week, still trying to get some windows ready to put in, trying to get into some kind of routine with these kids before we all go crazy, and really looking forward to my birthday on thursday and a kid-free night out on friday to celebrate. A great gig to go to, dinner, and a nice hotel room in the city and maybe some shopping in the city on Saturday morning, all with my adorable hubby. Can’t wait!

Till next week, 

     Beck xoxo

 

10 thoughts on “Music….

  1. Wow a super varied musical spectrum! Lots I love too. I thought that Walk the Line was a wonderful film too. Thursday must be the day for it. It is my birthday too! Love having a public holiday – at least when I am home in NZ!

    Like

  2. Amazing list ()the links did not work for me but i will check out some of them as i have not heard of them). Can’t believe i did not mention nina simone in my list as she is one of our favourites in this house. I also wish I had been at woodstock! deb xx

    have a happy birthday as well and enjoy your gig and adventures!

    Like

  3. Such a great list – so much variety!! I loved Salt n pepper too! I remember my cousin and I singing ‘lets talk about sex baby’ and unfortunately he passed away of luekemia a few years later!
    Happy birthday for Thursday!

    Like

  4. Off to download the Neil Young album you mentioned!! Great list, thanks so much for sharing!! Lots of great memories to those oldies…I remember a couple of friends and I watching the Woodstock documentary during high school and spending a couple of months reenacting some of the events using my mom’s cigarettes as props!!! I sometimes wonder what “Woodstock” events from our time that will fascinate our kids!!

    Like

  5. i loved Walked The Line, it’s a great movie. Salt N Pepa is a bit of a flashback, I loved them in highschool, I still know all the words to Shoop! Hope you had a great birthday 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

