Listmania 11: All about books

This weeks #listmania got me thinking. I love books, I love reading, I love getting so involved in a story that I stay up all night till it’s finished.
Should I write about my favourite books? What I’m reading at the moment? Or what’s still on my list “to-read” one day?
A few years ago (pre-children) I set myself the challenge of reading 100 books in a year. I only just made it to a hundred a couple of days before the end of the year.

IMG_2979
At the moment I’m reading: Indelible Ink, by Fiona McGregor. About 1/3 of the way through and enjoying it. It’s a good ‘summer-read’. About a middle aged woman, in Sydney, who’s not sure where her life is heading after her divorce and she starts getting tattoos. I picked it up at the library last week because I liked the cover.

One of the best books I’ve read recently was: The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson.

One of the most disappointing books I’ve read recently was:
50 Shades Of Grey. I mean, it was ok, but after hearing so many people talk about it I thought it must be good, but it just didn’t live up to the hype for me.

My (literary) guilty pleasure is:
Bridget Jones’s Diary and Bridget Jones, the edge of reason. I bought these in 2003 and read them travelling though Europe. Like the book equivalent of a trashy “chick-flick” but great entertainment and will always remind me of lying on a beach in Croatia, reading and smoking french cigarettes.

A few of my favourites...

A few of my favourites…


Favourite Author:
Stephen King. I have read every book he’s put out. Some are great, some not so much but I love them all. I started reading his books at 12 years old, Skeleton Crew was the first book I borrowed from the “grown-up” part of the library.

Favourite series:
The Dark Tower, Stephen King. Long enough for me to get completely absorbed in. It’s my favourite alternate reality and I tend to re-read them whenever I’m feeling a bit down and in need of escape.

Favourite Bio:
No One Here Gets Out Alive (Jerry Hopkins and Danny Sugerman) (it’s the book they based “The Doors” movie on.) On Writing, Stephen King. (part autobiography, part how-to-write lesson)

Still waiting to be read:
The Comfort of Water by Maya Ward. Kingdom of Fear by Hunter S Thompson. Waging Heavy Peace by Neil Young (autobiography)

IMG_3061
All Time Favourites:
Feel The Fear (and do it anyway) my favourite “self-help/motivational” type book. I found out about it at a creativity seminar years ago and went and bought the book the next day.
To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee,
On The Road – Jack Kerouac (which I read at 14 after hearing that Kerouac’s writing inspired some of The Doors’s music.)
Kaz Cooke’s Up the Duff and Kidwrangling, books I refer to all the time in the last couple of years for baby/kid advice.

There’s probably a few more that I can’t think of right now, with most of my books packed away. It’ll be like meeting up with old friends when I finally get to unpack them.

Till next time,
Beck xoxo

7 thoughts on “Listmania 11: All about books

  1. Great list!

    Gosh you reminded me of the passion I used to have for Stephen King books, I went through a stage of devouring his books, Misery was one of my favourites.

    I have a copy of To kill a Mocking Bird at home, but I’ve yet to read it. I’m embarrassed to say it was Victoria Beckham’s harping on about it when she had her daughter that made me buy it 😉

    x

    Like

  2. I watched an interview with Neil Young about his autobiography and it sounded amazing. I must add that to my wish list. I have spent more than a little time of late with my nose buried in a Kaz Cook volume.

    Like

  3. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time faves too – love your colourful header at the top, now I’m going to have to see about your mountain on here!

    Like

  4. I’ve not read much by Stephen King – I don’t think horror is really my thing. I quite enjoyed the 50 shades series, but must say I found the last one the best. But you had to take them for what they were – very poorly written books, but a bit of escapism. A disapointing book for me was The Casual Vacancy – J.K Rowlings – I couldn’t finish it.

    Like

    • I’ll have to try the rest of the fifty shades series then, you’re right, it’s a great distraction from every day life, but I’ve read mills & boon that are better written! I think most people would be surprised to know that Stephen King isn’t all horror, he wrote ‘the green mile’ (that prison movie with Tom Hanks) and Shawshank Redemption, but his horror stuff is good. I find I can read scary books no problem, but can’t stand scary movies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

