Listmania 8

This weeks listmania prompt was to write a “Reverse Bucket list”, a list of things you’ve done so far. I thought this was a really awesome idea. We spend so much time thinking about the things that we still want to do, that we can often overlook the cool stuff we’ve already done.

Here’s some highlights from the last 30 years:

Paris

Paris


My Europe trip.

I hate flying, so surviving 21 hrs on a plane was a really big deal for me.

I got to go to Croatia and see where my Dad grew up and meet some of our relatives. I went to Peré Lachaise cemetery in Paris to visit Jim Morrison’s grave. I ate amazing breads and cheeses and drank local wines and beers and had a wonderful time. The only thing I would change if I could would be to have not gone with my (at-the-time) boyfriend, who was a miserable git the whole time and stopped me from trying lots of things I would like to have done.

Becoming a qualified hairdresser.

I have a pretty short attention span and tend to jump from idea to idea fairly quickly, and rarely finish things. (I have a whole cabinet devoted to unfinished craft projects to come back to one day!)

So when I started a hairdressing apprenticeship, I had major doubts about whether I’d be able to stick it out for the whole four years.

Miss Snugglebug meeting Squishy for the first time.

Miss Snugglebug meeting Squishy for the first time.


Having Babies.

Before having my daughter, I thought I was prepared to give birth, I read books, I went to the classes, I was ready… Then it happened and it was nothing like I imagined. It was the most powerful, incredible, scary, overwhelming experience I’ve ever had. And that was with the epidural. Then I held the squirmy little thing the midwife handed me and nothing else mattered anymore. The second time round, there wasn’t time for an epidural. I had to do it naturally. I am still in awe of this thing that our bodies are supposedly designed to do. But again, same as last time, when I held my son, nothing else mattered and I’d do it again a hundred times over for my beautiful babies.

Music.

I’ve always loved music, of all kinds and I was lucky enough to start going to see bands at a fairly young age. For my eleventh birthday I asked for mum to take me to the (don’t laugh) MC Hammer concert! This sparked a life-long obsession with live music.

I can’t even begin to count how many gigs I’ve been to, but these are some of my favourites: – Prince, – Metallica, – The Black Eyed Peas, – Eminem, – Madonna, (back when she was cool) – UB40, – Neil Young and Crazy Horse, (a couple of years ago, and again tonight!) – The Whitlams, (twice, so far) – Pet Shop Boys, -Snoop Dogg, – Kanye West, – The Drones, (4 or 5 times and counting) – Sime Nugent, – Nelly.

Garlic Snails

Garlic Snails


Food.

I love trying different kinds of food, Thai, Vietnamese, French, Malaysian, Nepalese, German, Indian, Greek, Indonesian, Spanish, Turkish, Japanese. I haven’t had Ethiopian or proper Moroccan yet, but I’m sure I will. I even have a rule when out at a restaurant, that if I see something on the menu that I’ve never tried before, I have to order it.

So far I’ve had Quail, Snails, (really yummy) Pigeon, (like tiny, tiny chicken) Sea snail and minced raw steak with a raw egg on top at a fancy japanese restaurant.

So, that’s it for my ” reverse bucket list”. What makes your list?

Till next time,
Beck xoxo

4 thoughts on “Listmania 8

  1. I have serious envy at your list of concerts. I couldn’t agree more about the arrival of a child. No matter how much you think you know it is so different and amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

