Getting Organised…

A few weeks ago, I had a go at The Organised Housewife’s ’20 Days to Clean & Organise Your Home’ challenge. (I don’t know how to attach a link here, but go check out her blog and facebook page, she’s awesome.)

Now, anyone who’s ever been to my house (or shed) knows that I am really not the tidiest person. (I can almost hear Kane laughing now) I have  a lot of stuff and have trouble keeping things neat, so when I heard about this challenge I thought it was a really great idea.

I didn”t manage to finish it, but I was happy to try to keep up. I got about 2/3 of the way through before I had to give up. I really loved having each day’s list of jobs emailed to me and focusing on a different room each day.

What made it more than a little difficult (apart from the toddler determined to mess things up as soon as I tried to tidy them!) was that our shed is basically two big rooms,  a combined kitchen/ dining/ playroom/ lounge/ study/ storage area and a bedroom/ Snugglebug’s room/ lounge/ storage area with a corner blocked off as a bathroom/ laundry/ toilet. It can be a little tricky to work out where one ‘room’ stops and the next one starts.

In trying to clean and organise each room, I found myself getting more and more frustrated at the lack of space and the amount of stuff crammed into every available corner. It’s impossible to squash a whole houseful of stuff into a space, keep it organised, be able to find things and live in it too. I hate never being able to find anything but I don’t have any room to move things to try to fix it.

My "Kitchen"

My “Kitchen”

So what I’ve decided to do is to re-do the challenge,  but do it when the house is finished and use it as a guide to help me have a huge clean out and de-clutter as I move things over into the new house. I think living in this chaos might have cured me permanently of my untidiness, because it’s driving me mental and I just can’t wait to get started and get organised!

At least I’ve picked up a few good habits from doing the challenge, I now make the beds as soon as we’re all up in the morning. It’s amazing how much better such a simple thing can make you feel. I’m still working on getting the dishes done and the kitchen tidied up every night so I don’t have to get up and deal with it in the morning. I’ll get there… one day!

Till next time,

Beck xxx

3 thoughts on “Getting Organised…

  1. Hi Beck
    I didn’t realize you had lost Phoebe, I’m so sad for you. I lost Nikita three years ago and it still hurts, even tho she was friken 21 yrs old can u believe. I’m sorry for u both. however she is now in dog heaven where EVERYTHING goes and no one says NOOOOOOOO…
    glad u are well , u still look awesum girl, I don’t know how u do it !! xx Chrissie { Tinka }

    Like

  2. Hi Beck,
    I just re-read your last blog because I have finished uni and am sitting in a house that is so cluttered and covered in 3 years worth of cobwebs and dust. Thanks for the inspiration, I’ll check out the organised housewife site now. Not long til your new bub arrives, looking forward to seeing you all soon xoxoxo Kate

    Like

    • Thanks Kate,
      I always think getting started is the hardest part, that’s why the Organised Housewife challenge was so good for me because instead of facing a mountain of housework, it divided everything up into small manageable sections. Good luck, and hope you have a great Christmas xoxox

      Like

Leave a Reply

